Liverpool, Man City dominate PFA player of the year shortlist



Players from Liverpool and Manchester City have been announced as the six nominees for the English Premier League’s Players Football Association (PFA) player of the year award for the 2019/20 season.

The 6-man shortlist, which was released on Friday, had four representatives from Liverpool and two from Manchester City.

Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane and Henderson were join on the shortlist by Manchester City duo Kevin De Bruyne and Raheem Sterling.

Both van Dijk and Alexander-Arnold played in all 38 league games in defence wherein the latter contributed 13 assists in the course of the season. Henderson was a leader in midfield while Mane scored 22 goals in all competitions.

“The Liverpool quartet have been rewarded for the roles they played in the club’s first title success in 30 years, finishing 18 points clear of second-placed City,” the PFA said.

For Man City, De Bruyne’s stunning individual display saw him equal the EPL assists record previously set by Thierry Henry, while Sterling also scored 35 goals for club and country.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday.

See full list below:

Men’s player of the year

Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
Kevin de Bruyne – Manchester City
Jordan Henderson – Liverpool
Sadio Mane- Liverpool
Raheem Sterling – Manchester City
Virgil van Dijk – Liverpool
Men’s young player

Tammy Abraham – Chelsea
Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
Marcus Rashford – Manchester United
Mason Greenwood – Manchester United
Mason Mount – Chelsea
Bukayo Saka – Arsenal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial

Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)